MAA-NCS Team Competition

Report on 14th Annual NCS-MAA Team Contest (2010)

The fourteenth annual NCS/MAA Team Contest was held on Saturday, November 13, 2010, with 85 teams from 28 universities and colleges participating. This was second only to the record 91 teams from 29 institutions in the 2009 contest. The UMN Twin Cities team Loons took first place, with a perfect score of 100. Team members are Matt Coudron, Xin Jin and Peter Lofgren, who had also tied for first place with a score of 100 in 2009. Second place team was the St. Olaf Rice Cookers with a score of 98; team members are Ling Gu, Huong Vu and Tung Pham. Scores ranged from 100 to 1, with a median of 38. The problems and a set of solutions are posted elsewhere on the NCS website, as are the names of the team members placing in the top third. (See links below.)

Each college or university in the North Central Section of the MAA is invited to enter as many teams of up to three undergraduate students each as desired. The expenses of the contest are covered by an entry fee of $15 per team. Over these first fourteen years of the contest, teams from 36 different institutions have entered. The next team contest is tentatively scheduled for Saturday, Nov. 12, 2011. An announcement and invitation to register will be sent by email in September.

For further information, please contact Jerry Heuer:

Dr. Gerald A. Heuer

Professor Emeritus and Mathematician in Residence

Concordia College

Moorhead, MN 56562

2010 Team Competition Solutions and Results

Competition Problems Competition Solutions Top Third Team Results

Past North Central Section Team Competitions

2009 Problems Solutions Results
2008 Problems Solutions Results
2007 Problems Solutions Results
2006 Problems Solutions Results
2005 Problems Solutions Results
2004 Problems Solutions Results
2003 Problems Solutions Results
2002 Problems Solutions Results
2001 Problems Solutions Results
2000 Problems Solutions Results
1999 Problems Solutions Results
1998 Problems (.html) Solutions
1997 Problems Solutions

MAA-NCS Team Results: Year-by-Year Record of Top Three Teams

For more information contact Professor Jerry Heuer.

Via e-mail address at and by snail mail address at:

Prof. Jerry Heuer

Department of Mathematics

Concordia College

Moorhead, MN 56562

Comments or corrections can be sent to the webmaster.