Nominations for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics

We urge you to submit a nomination for the North Central Section Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics Award. We know that you have someone eligible and qualified in your department. We know that there are excellent teachers in the NCS but we need your help to nominate these people for the recognition they deserve. Even if the nominee is not selected this year, it is an honor for the individual to be nominated for this award, and the same person can be nominated again another year.

Please bring this announcement to the attention of colleagues in your departments. Self-nomination is not allowed, but anyone else may make a nomination. Eligibility and guidelines are listed on the website along with further information. The nomination form may be downloaded at

Nominations for the MAA-NCS Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics will be accepted at a date to be determined at the fall 2009 section meeting. The North Central Section Selection Committee will determine the recipient of the award from those nominated, and the awardee will be honored at the spring section meeting. The section winner will also be eligible to be the section nominee for the national MAA Deborah and Franklin Tepper Haimo Award for Distinguished College or University Teaching of Mathematics.


Nominees must:


Nominees should:

* "teaching" is to be interpreted in its broadest sense, not necessarily limited to classroom teaching. It may include activities such as preparing students for mathematical competitions at the college level, attracting students to become majors in a mathematical science or to go on to graduate school in mathematics, working with pre-service or in-service teachers, etc.

** "influence beyond . . . " can take many forms, including demonstrated lasting impact on alumni, influence on the profession through curricular revisions in college mathematics with wide-ranging impact influential publications or innovative books concerned with the teaching of college mathematics, etc.


Nominations must be submitted on the "Nomination Form" (which can be downloaded at Please follow the instructions on that form to assure uniformity in the selection process. Files significantly exceeding the prescribed limits will not be considered for a national award.

Send nomination to the 2010 Chairman:

Dan O'Loughlin
College of St. Catherine

Current Selection Committee Members

Section Teaching Awards

(started 1992)

2010 Tim Peil Minnesota State University-Moorhead
2009 Danrun Huang St. Cloud State University
2008 Jason Douma University of Sioux Falls
2007 Karen Saxe Macalester College
2006 David Appleyard Carleton College
2005 Ivy Knoshaug Bemidji State University
2004 Suzanne Dorée Augsburg College
2003 Thomas Sibley St. John's University
2002 Robert Lacher South Dakota State University
2001 Ted Vessey St. Olaf College
2000 M. B. Rao North Dakota State University
1999 Ronald Rietz Gustavus Adolphus College
1998 Joan Hutchinson Macalester College
1997 Richard Jarvinen Winona State University
1996 None
1995 Clayton Knoshaug Bemidji State University
1994 Mark Krusemeyer Carleton College
1993 None
1992 Joe Gallian
(National Recipient)
University of Minnesota-Duluth

Comments or corrections can be sent to the webmaster.